TWJ – Hazel Crest, IL to Saint Paul, MN

Posted on May 28, 2009

0


As I was driving home after dropping off in Mishiwaka, IN I got a call to pick up another run 90 miles away in Hazel Crest, IL and then drop it off thursday morning in Saint Paul, MN. A run of about 440 miles. Hazel Crest, IL is a little south of Chicago and it was going to be near rush hour. Oh joy of joys. hehe Instead of taking the interstate and fight that traffic, I decided to take smaller roads, and it wasn’t too bad till I got close to Chicago and then got into a little traffic, but not near as bad as the interstates would have been.
I picked up from a place that makes railroad cranes and got loaded with this skid with 2014 pounds of chains:

This is my load

This is my load

Later that afternoon, I stopped at this rest area on I-39 north in Illinois.

Rest Area on I-39 north in Illinois.

Rest Area on I-39 north in Illinois.

After a couple more stops, I arrived at my drop off point and was actually able to unload instead of having to wait till the morning.
After I got unloaded I drove about 20 miles east to a rest area and spent the night.

Posted in: On the road