TWJ – Future Birthplace of Captain James T. Kirk

Posted on June 12, 2009

0


On April 23rd, 2009, I shot this video while in Riverside, Iowa. This is the official “future” birthplace of Captain James T. Kirk from Star Trek.

This is a pretty small town and I really didn’t know what I was looking for to find this place. I drove through the town and back a couple times looking for the spot. 2009-04-23 010Finally, I pulled up next to an antique store called Vintageville thinking that they would probably know where I needed to go. Well, I was right. Turns out I parked right in front of it. hehe I some how missed the banners on the pole pointing right to it (see previous picture). This is even more amusing when as I was trying to explain to the nice lady inside what I was looking for. She gave me a look, that, at the time, I thought she had no idea what I was talking about, but later found out she was surprised I was asking for directions since it was right next door. Yep, us nerds have trouble with directions. hehe

Anyway, after she took my picture at the birthplace site 2009-04-23 012 and then told me a little history, I grabbed my video camera and started shooting.

After seeing his birthplace, I walked down a couple blocks to Murphy’s Bar and Grill 2009-04-23 023 , where they have a plaque under a pool table denoting the place where James T. Kirk was conceived 2009-04-23 020 . That was very funny and worth seeing. The restaurant is also very nice. I drove back to the edge of town and visited the SMALL Star Trek and Riverside museum 2009-04-23 019 . There were some very nice people in the museum and it was a nice visit. 2009-04-23 015 2009-04-23 016 2009-04-23 017


There is also a convention every year in Riverside called Trek Fest and this year it is June 26th and 27th, so click on the Trek Fest link and find out more info.

I hope you enjoy the video.

